

External Program Review Committee (EPRC) minutes[DRAFT]

Date of meeting: 2-4 p.m. July 5, 2018

DSD liaison: Stacie Enders **Type**: Whole committee

Location: Minnesota Department of Human Services, Room 3146, 444 Lafayette Road, St. Paul 55155. Most

members of the committee, however, participated through an online video conference line.

Committee members

In attendance: Melanie Eidsmoe, Danielle Bishop, Jodi Greenstein, Stephanie Schaefer, Nichole Kottke, Dan Baker and Rosemary Furst

Absent: Stacy Danov, Amber Maki, Barbara White and Mary Piggott

Topics discussed

- Public comments
 - There were no public comments at this meeting.
- Approval of minutes from June
 - o Dan Baker: Yes
 - o Danielle Bishop: Yes
 - Melanie Eidsmoe: Yes
 - o Nichole Kottke: Yes
 - o Stephanie Schaefer: Yes
 - o Rosemary Furst: Yes
 - o Jodi Greenstein: Yes
- Discussion
 - The committee coordinator shared some additional information related to the following suggestion: Committee members might want to conduct staff training for providers who support individuals with significant behavioral needs. Here is the additional information:
 - Funding is not available for this training. However, funding is available through the waiver programs for local specialists to do this work.
 - It is unlikely the committee members will do this work for free because one training typically lasts two full days and requires another day or two to prepare.

- This training would require significant travel time and hotel expenditures compared to providers working with local specialists.
- Because of high staff turnover at most organizations, it would be more convenient for providers to work with local specialists who can provide more timely and ongoing support.

At this time the committee will not pursue this suggestion.

- Update
 - o The subcommittee members have changed:
 - The EUMR subcommittee now includes Amber Maki, Mary Piggott, Jodi Greenstein,
 Nichole Kottke, Stephanie Schaefer and Danielle Bishop.
 - The requests for approval subcommittee now includes Barbara White, Danielle Bishop,
 Rosemary Geist, Melanie Eidsmoe, Dan Baker and Stacy Danov.
- Updates from subcommittees
 - o Both groups are striving to meet with care teams in-person.
- Wrap up: What is going well? What should we change? What have we learned?
 - o It's nice to have both subcommittees together from time to time.
 - Oklahoma has a similar committee to the EPRC and its committee has someone who specializes in client rights.
 - The committee coordinator will try to recruit from the Ombudsman's office, DHS and counties.

Authentication

Committee coordinator name: Stacie Enders	
Signature:	Date: